Book Author – Performance on Trial: The Case for Better Entertainment

Performance on Trial:

The Case for Better Entertainment

For over 30 years Joseph Curcillo has been stunning corporate and private audiences with his innovative magic, mentalism, and comedy.  At the same time,   Joe has spent 25 years at the top of his profession as a successful judge,  prosecutor, and trial lawyer.  By fusing together a lifetime  of  experience as a  performer with the secrets of  winning in the courtroom, Joe has produced the Method for  performers that want to succeed with audiences.

 

“Fans of Ken Webers Maximum Entertainment and Darwin Ortiz’s
Designing Miracles will find this volume to be meat for their table.”

Review by Joshua Kane, in M.U.M.

Why is this book good for Mystery Entertainers?

  • Master the secrets used by professionals to win audiences.
  • Wake up to a new vision of what your performances can be.
  • Learn how to persuade your audience magically.
  • Use the Development Worksheet bring your show to the next level.

How is it important?

  • A uniquely written perspective of entertainment never before in print.
  • It teaches presentation skills from the perspective of a professional who understands what an audience needs.
  • Takes the theory teachings of the Fitzkee Trilogy or The Books of Wonder in a completely different direction.

Contains performance notes on effects by three distinguished performers:

  • Marc DeSouza
  • Doc Dixon
  • Bruce Bernstein

Book Photo_edited-1 

 

Available Through Authorized
Dealers Only

Stevens Magic Emporium
H & R Magic Books
Denny & Lee


 

The Verdict Is In!

From around the globe we are getting rave reviews on Performance On Trial

"This book is part story, part courtroom drama, and part workshop; it’s about acting the part, it’s about communication techniques. This is a refreshing book. My first impulse was right, I couldn’t put it down."

- From the Foreword by Bob Fitch

Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload

“Herein are closely guarded secrets, not the secrets that can be bought with gold, but only through the blood and sweat of actually doing.”

- From The Introduction by Marc Salem

Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload

"Joe has taken his years of experience as a Criminal Trial Lawyer and compared it to his experience as a performer. If you like the Fitzkee Trilogy or Tommy Wonder's Books of Wonder, you are going to love this book."

- Banachek

Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload

"Joe has taken his deep experience as a trial lawyer and shows how lawyers and entertainers often must walk the same path if they are to be successful. The verdict is in, and it is Buy this Book."

- Ken Weber, Author of Maximum Entertainment

Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload

"Really a great read. Everyone is so happy with their $200 books, imagine how happy you will be with a good one at this price!"

- Michael Weber

Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload

"Excellent book. Parts of it made me wish I was trying cases again. I highly recommend this."

- Bob Cassidy

Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload

"I should have remembered that my father always counseled me to put on a good show for the jurors and they'll reward you.” 

- Bob Killian, Esq., Psychic Entertainer & Attorney

Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload

"It's a great book  - a must have!" 

Markus Beldig

Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload

"Truly captivating."

- Alain Nu

Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload

"One book born of experience and two loves. The experience and love for his two professions: a successful lawyer and a successful mentalist. As a result, Joseph has found a wonderful way to take your act from the real to the fantastic."

- Anthony Blake (Spain)

Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload

 "This book is great. Joseph's thoughts and analysis will benefit every performer in our craft. I will find a special place for it in my private library."

- Neal Scryer

 

Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload

"Thank YOU for having released such a book. It's outstanding."

- Rudolf Künzli

Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload
Drop files to upload

Book Review:  Illinois Lawyer Magazine

Review by: Rodney Nordstrom, Ph.D., J.D.  (Mr Nordstrom is a trial consultant and magician. His trial consulting company, Litigation Simulation Services, www.litsim.com, is located in Peoria, Ill.)


Joseph Curcillo III, is a successful magician and defense attorney. At night, Joey performs for audiences in theaters seating thousands. By day, Joe performs before juries of 12 with the power to grant life or death. From two-hour evening shows to jury trials lasting weeks and requiring a lawyer to perform 10 hours a day, Joe lives for his audiences.

His new book discusses perfecting the art of communication, audience perception and strategic performance techniques necessary for successful presentations. Joe has spent 25 years at the top of his profession as a successful judge, prosecutor and trial lawyer. By fusing together a lifetime of experience as a performer with the secrets of winning in the courtroom, he has produced the method for trial attorneys who want to succeed with juries. His new book, “Performance on Trial: the Case for Better Entertainment,” teaches presentation skills from the perspective of a professional who understands what an audience needs.

His skills as a professional presenter are the result of years of training and experience on stage in theater and “on stage” in court. His mastery of these two worlds has made him one of the most highly sought-after performance trainers for the legal profession. Joe has spent the last 25 years teaching trial lawyers how to present winning cases. Whether he is on stage entertaining corporate executives or in court defending a client charged with violent crimes, Joe knows the ultimate goal is winning the audience. His book consists of a rather interesting compilation and insights necessary for successful trial work. The six-chapter, 154-page book discusses the roles of both magic performer and trial attorney. Aristotle’s basics of rhetoric: Pathos, Logo and Ethos are the underpinnings for the book. He creatively accentuates his chapters with clever quotes from a range of sources including Ian Anderson (Jethro Tull), Humphrey Bogart, Lenny Bruce, Monty Python, Francis Bacon and Milton Erickson.

Joe starts by saying, “…they (the jury) want to hear words that are in your heart, or you are not ready to present a winning case.” Rhetorically he asks, “Do you give your audience the information to choose the world you want them to accept? Do you argue the facts through your passion for the topic so the audience will follow your conclusions?” Simply put, will your audience (jury) want to take you on a second date?

According to Joe, your opening is the dust jacket of your entire presentation and must motivate jurors to open the book, not just stare at the cover, and must resemble a movie trailer. In a rather profound insight, he says he prefers to “walk along the edge of reality until the audience settles into the outskirts of the secondary world you create for them.”

In his chapter on storytelling, he offers the following COLOR acronym: Clarity of thought, Open your mind, Listen to your instincts, Observe your audience and Rehearse. This simplified reminder should help you connect with jurors, causing them to suspend their reality and briefly enter your world. The most effective argument is one in which the jurors enjoy being involved. Remember, your presentation is for them, not you.

“Performance on Trial” draws parallels between performance skills of the magician and trial attorney. At times, he takes a light and sometimes humorous approach to his presentations. Joe reminds us that an easy way of motivating your jury is to make your world so inviting that they truly want to understand your case. But it is so much more than that; he refocuses attention back on the importance of jury-centered advocacy, not attorney-centered case presentation. The book sells for $39.95 and is available from ThoughtEmporium, www.thoughtemporium.com, and Joey can be reached at jac@bclegal.com. Joey warns you to read his book or you’ll be seeing him.•

 

Performance on Trial: The Case for Better Entertainment
by Joseph A. Curcillo  |  Introduction by: Marc Salem  |  Foreword by: Bob Fitch
Contributions by:  Bruce Bernstein  |  Marc DeSouza  |  Doc Dixon

$39.95 (does not include shipping!)
Thought Emporium, 2011
Hardcover, dust jacket, 154 pp.